Union Peace Conference-21st Century Panglong begins

State Counsellor invites non-signatories to NCA to join in peace effort

DSC 0228 copy
President U Win Myint, State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Commander-in-Chief Senior-General Min Aung Hlaing and Saw Mutu Sae Poe, Chairman of KNU, at the 21st Century Panglong. Photo: MNA

The Third Session of the Union Peace Conference-21st Century Panglong was opened with a ceremony in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday morning.
The opening ceremony was attended by President U Win Myint, State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Vice-Presidents U Myint Swe and U Henry Van Thio, Speaker of Pyithu Hluttaw U T Khun Myat, Speaker of Amyotha Hluttaw Mahn Win Khaing Than, Chief Justice of the Union U Htun Htun Oo, Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing, Chairman of the Constitutional Tribunal U Myo Nyunt, Chairman of the Union Election Commission U Hla Thein, Deputy Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Commander-in-Chief (Army) Vice-Senior General Soe Win, Deputy Speakers of Pyithu Hluttaw and Amyotha Hluttaw, the Chairman of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw’s Legal Affairs and Special Cases Assessment Commission, Union Ministers, the Union Attorney-General, the Union Auditor-General, the Chairman of the Union Civil Service Selection Board, Nay Pyi Taw Council Chairman Dr. Myo Aung, Chief Ministers of regions and states, the Chairman of the Peace Commission, Chief of Staff (Army, Navy and Air), senior military officers, chairmen of Hluttaw committees, representatives of the government, Hluttaw and the Tatmadaw, representatives of the Ethnic Armed Organisations (EAOs), chairmen and representatives of political parties, representatives of the signatories to the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA), including the Chin National Front (CNF), All Burma Students’ Democratic Front (ABSDF), Arakan Liberation Party (ALP,) Restoration Council of Shan State (RCSS), Karen National Union (KNU), Karen National Union/Karen National Liberation Army (Peace Council) (KNU/KNLA [PC]), Democratic Karen Benevolent Army (DKBA), Pa-O National Liberation Organization (PNLO), New Mon State Party (NMSP) and Lahu Democratic Union (LDU) and representatives of non-signatories to the NCA, including United Wa National Unity Party, United Wa State Army (UWSP/UWSA), representatives from the Karenni National Progressive Party (KNPP), National Democratic Alliance Army (NDAA), Myanmar National Democratic Alliance Army (MNDAA), Shan State Progressive Party (SSPP/SSA) and Kachin Independence Organization/Kachin Independence Army (KIO/KIA), Ta-ang National Liberation Army (TNLA), Arakan Army (AA), family members of the leaders who signed in the previous Panglong Accord, diplomats and personnel from UN agencies and NGOs.
Yesterday’s ceremony began with a lively dance performance called Panglong Thitsa.
State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi then delivered an opening address, followed by speeches from Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services Senior General Min Aung Hlaing, Karen National Union (KNU) Chairman Saw Mutu Sae Poe, Arakan National Party (ANP) Vice President Daw Aye Nu Sein. (Full text of these speeches are carried on other pages).
The ceremony was concluded after the President, the State Counsellor, the Vice Presidents, Hluttaw Speakers, the Commander-in-Chief and other officials took documentary photos with other distinguished guests.


Share this post
Hot News
Hot News