Second wave of ballots for upcoming 2018 by-elections printed, distributed

DSC 3986 copy
Printing and Publishing Department staff hand over ballot papers to respective election sub-commissions in Nay Pyi Taw on 2 October. Photo: Thiha Sithu

The ballots to be used in the 2018 by-election have been printed by the Printing and Publishing Department under the Ministry of Education and handed over to the respective state and regional election sub-commissions in a formal ceremony at the Nay Pyi Taw printing house located at the fork in Kayepin Street, Zeyathiri Township in Nay Pyi Taw, at 9am on 2 October.
Ballot transportation to local and overseas voters explained
Concerning the ballot handover, Union Election Commission-(UEC) Director (Management) U Kyaw Kyaw Soe said the ballots handed over today will be used in the by-elections held on 3 November 2018, and that they have been distributed twice separately.
He said the first wave of ballots were distributed on 4 September for advance polling and this second wave is for use at the voting booths in the upcoming byelections throughout the 13 state and region constituents.

U Kyaw Kyaw Soe copy
U Kyaw Kyaw Soe.

U Kyaw Kyaw Soe said a security detail and officials and staff from the respective township election sub-commission are present when the ballots are handed over. He said distant places such as Kachin, Rakhine and Shan States usually receive the ballots first. He said the security detail accompanying the ballots consist of police officers assigned by the Ministry of Home Affairs. He said they accompany the ballots until they are handed over to the relevant township police station and stored in their vault for safekeeping.
Arrangements for overseas voters are carried with the foreign embassies, who have collected lists of overseas voters using the prescribed Form 15, said U Kyaw Kyaw Soe. He said the lists of overseas voters are first sent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs before arriving at the Union Election Commission, After the UEC has scrutinized the list and given approval, the ballots for the overseas voters are collected from their respective township of origin and sent to the
Ministry of Foreign Affairs who send it to the foreign embassies, he said.
U Kyaw Kyaw Soe said after the citizens residing abroad have cast their ballots, they are collected and returned to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, then to the UEC, and then to the relevant township election sub-commissions. He said inspections of the quality of the ballots led by a deputy director from the commission.
Ballot printing process explained

U Tun Tun Naing copy
U Tun Tun Naing.

U Tun Tun Naing, the Deputy Director (Printing) of the Printing and Publishing Department under the Ministry of Information, explained about the actual ballot printing process.
He said the Union Election Commission gave the orders to begin printing the ballots for the upcoming by-election on 15 August 2018. The ballots will be used in casting votes vacancies in the 13 constituencies with 452,700 ballots printed for the Pyithu Hluttaw, 233,950 ballots printed for the Amyotha Hluttaw, 347,500 ballots printed for the State/Regional Hluttaws, and 94,900 ballots printed for vacant ethnic national constituencies; making a total of 1,129,050 ballots printed for the upcoming byelection.
U Tun Tun Naing said the ballots were solely printed at the Nay Pyi Taw printing press for three days straight from 29 to 31 August. He said yellow 80 GSM woodfree paper from Indonesia, with watermarks for security, were used to print the ballots. He added that the Ministry of Home Affairs provided security details and the Ministry of Electricity and Energy ensured there was an uninterrupted supply of electricity during the ballot printing period. The Printing and Publishing Department has safely printed standard ballots for the 2010 general election, 2012 byelection, 2015 general election, 2017 byelection, and the upcoming 2018 byelection, said U Tun Tun Naing.
The Printing and Publishing Department has already delivered 2,259 ballot booklets containing 50 ballot sheets each; a total of 112,590 ballot sheets; for overseas voters to foreign embassies and election sub-commissions on 4 September. The remaining 20,322 ballot booklets, also containing 50 ballots each; a total of 1,016,100 ballot sheets; were printed on 2 October.
In the upcoming byelections on 3 November 2018, the vacant constituencies for Pyithu Hluttaw are Kanpetlet, Laikha, Tamway, and Myingyan; the vacant constituency for Amyotha Hluttaw is Kachin State Amyotha Hluttaw Constituency 2; and the vacant constituencies for State/Regional Hluttaws are Matupi, Tamu, Ottwin, Thabeikkyin, Yathedaung, Minbu, Seikkan, and the Mandalay Region Hluttaw’s Shan Ethnic National Constituency.


Zin Oo (Myanma Alin)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News