Second Amyotha Hluttaw holds fifth-day meeting of its 11th session

a copy 1
Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than. Photo: MNA

The fifth-day meeting of the 11th session of the Second Amyotha Hluttaw was held yesterday in the Amyotha Hluttaw meeting hall in Nay Pyi Taw.
Preventing erosion of Ayeyawady River’s banks
At the meeting, U Htein Win of Ayeyawady Region constituency 4 asked whether there was a plan to maintain bank stability and prevent river bank erosion of the Ayeyawady River during construction of a tunnel through the sandbank of the river in Kyaukye, Tarngut and Phaung Seik villages, Hinthada Township, Ayeyawady Region.
Regarding this query, Deputy Minister for Transport and Communications U Kyaw Myo replied that the Ministry of Transport and Communications would ask for funds, as a top priority, from the Ayeyawady Region government in 2019-2020 FY, as part of efforts to prevent the erosion of the river bank.
Moreover, requests will be made for K820 million in funding, as a second priority, from the capital fund of the regional government in 2019-2020 FY, which aims at preventing river bank erosion in Tarngut and Phaung Seik villages. The maintenance for the river bank will be carried out in the region after gaining the allotment of the fund in 2019-2020 FY.
Building a flood gate at the Kyauktagar Dam
Dr. Kyaw Ngwe of Magway Region constituency 10 asked if there was a plan to build a sluice gate, in a timely manner, before the rainy season, at the Kyauktagar Dam, Yesagyo Township, Magway Region. Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation U Hla Kyaw replied that the Irrigation and Water Utilization Management Department would implement the construction project after receiving allotment of funds from the Magway Region government.
Q & A session
Next, Deputy Ministers U Hla Kyaw and Nay Pyi Taw Council member U Nyi Tun clarified the queries raised by U Khin Maung Lat of Rakhine State constituency 3, U Myint Naing of Rakhine State constituency 5, and Daw Nwe Nwe Aung of Mon State constituency 2.
Child Rights Bill
Hluttaw representatives took part in the discussion on the Child Rights Bill at the Hluttaw session. Concerning the bill, Dr. Tin Tin Win of Bago Region constituency 5, Tatmadaw representative Lt-Col Myo Tun Aung, U Kyaw Kyaw Win of Rakhine State constituency 8, U Soe Thein of Kayah State constituency 9, U San Myint of Ayeyawady Region constituency 3, Tatmadaw representative Maj. Ye Aung Saw and U Soe Thein (a) U Maung Soe of Thaninthayi Region constituency 10 participated in the discussion.
The six-day meeting of the 11th session of the 2nd Amyotha Hluttaw will be convened on 30 January.

By Aung Ye Thwin,
Lu Maw (MNA)

(Translated by Win Ko Ko Aung)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News