Second Amyotha Hluttaw 12th regular session holds third-day meeting


The third-day meeting of the Second Amyotha Hluttaw’s 12th regular session was held yesterday morning at the Amyotha Hluttaw meeting hall where asterisk marked questions raised by five Hluttaw representatives were answered by Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Lin and a motion tabled. As the first agenda of the day Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker Mahn Win Khaing Than informed the Hluttaw of Amyotha Hluttaw health, sports and culture committee member Tatmadaw representative Brig-Gen Thet Naing being replaced with Brig-Gen Nyunt Swe and obtained the consensus of the Hluttaw.

Asterisk marked questions
In the first asterisk marked question of the day U Myint Naing of Rakhine State constituency 5 asked if there was a plan to lay 2 miles of concrete road section, 2 miles of gravel surface road section and a 2 miles earth road section of the 19 miles long Pane Ne Chaung-Kyaungswephyu inter-village road in Kyauktaw Township during fiscal year 2019-2020. Deputy Minister for Construction U Kyaw Lin replied that once this road was completed, it would benefit 3 villages with more than 4,600 people in 2,323 households. Fund to construct 1 mile 5 furlong of concrete road and 2 miles of earth road in this road was included in Rakhine State Government fund for fiscal year 2019-2020 and the road sections will be constructed depending upon funding allocation said the Deputy Minister.
U Maung Maung Latt of Sagaing Region constituency 9 on the other hand asked whether there was a plan to construct a new bridge linking Sagaing Region Tamu Township Myoma 13 Ward Nan Pha Lon and Thayagon villages. The Deputy Minister replied that the bridge was on a 6 miles 4 furlong Myoma 13 Ward-Chaungnetkyi-Usu-Thayagon 6 miles 4 furlong rural road that connect to Tamu-Zedi main road.
The bridge was on priority 1 Class A road and fund for it will be requested in fiscal year 2020-2021 from Sagaing Region government fund and depending upon fund allocation it will be reconstructed as a concrete bridge said the Deputy Minister.
Similarly U Lin Tin Htay of Mon State constituency 4 raised a question on whether there was a plan to surface Kamakay-Kwinklane-Sepala road section in Mon State, Mawlamyine District, Chaungzon Township with asphalt during fiscal year 2019-2020. The road was a priority 1 Class A road and fund for it will be included in fiscal year 2020-2021 Mon State government fund and depending upon fund allocation asphalt surfacing of the road will be implemented said the Deputy Minister.
Questions raised by U Min Oo of Bago Region constituency 6 and U Min Swe Naing of Kachin State constituency 6 were also answered by the Deputy Minister.
Motion to raise the livelihood of rural women through cottage industry
After the asterisk marked questions were asked and answered Dr. Tin Tin Win of Bago Region constituency 5 tabled a motion urging the Union government for relevant departments to cooperate and work together toward raising the livelihood of rural women, enable their participation in the economy, reduced incidence of them leaving home and working abroad and create a good environment for them by providing knowledge, information, technology and investment for home-based works using locally available raw material, create marketable products and market. In tabling the motion she provided details about the benefits and aims as well as remarking on the fact that the motion would upraise significantly the livelihood of the women in rural area while supporting also the aims of Myanmar Sustainable Development Goal (2018-2030).
The motion was supported by Daw Nwe Nwe Aung of Mon State constituency 2. However U Aung Kyi Nyunt of Magway constituency 4 commented that even if the motion was accepted for discussion and was successfully passed, it would be very difficult for the government to implement it and thus serious consideration need to be placed toward this fact.
When the decision of the Hluttaw was taken there were 110 Hluttaw representatives who voted for discussing the motion exceeding the required 40 votes and Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker announced the Hluttaw’s agreement to accept and discuss the motion. Amyotha Hluttaw Speaker also announced further for Hluttaw representatives who want to discuss the motion to register their names. The fourth-day meeting of the Second Amyotha Hluttaw’s 12th regular session is scheduled for 8 May it is learnt.—Aung Ye Thwin (MNA) (Translated by Zaw Min)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News