Govt, ethnic armed groups discuss to organize ceasefire implementation meeting

The government peace negotiators led by Peace Commission Secretary Lt-Gen (retired) Khin Zaw Oo held a meeting with ethnic armed groups delegation led by Restoration Council of Shan State (RCSS) Secretary 2 U Sai Ngin from the 10 Ethnic Armed Organizations signed the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) in Chiang Mai, Thailand, yesterday morning.

5 copy 2
Representatives from government and ethnic armed groups delegation hold a meeting on peace process in Chiang Mai, Thailand yesterday. 
Photo: HMS

First, the two delegation leaders extended greetings.
Secretary 2 U Sai Ngin said, “The peace process has seen no progress over one year. To overcome this impediment, both the government and the NCA-S EAO have prepared for the proposals. Although both sides agreed to hold the Joint-Ceasefire Implementation Coordination Meeting (JICM) to approve topics for discussion, it did not happen to hold the negotiations. This coordination meetings would be followed by the meetings of the Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC), the Joint Ceasefire Monitoring Committee (JMC), the working committee and the national dialogue before holding the 4th round of Union Peace Conference- 21st Century Panglong. And that holding of JICM is regarded as the first step for the whole process.”
U Hla Maung Shwe, advisor of Peace Commission, also said, “The 10 ethnic armed groups discussed many discussion, but the main point was to hold JICM. We have seen positive results from today’s meeting. We also held talks on international pressures on Myanmar, and the future peace-making plans. Although we have agreed in principle to hold the next round of meeting, we need to wait the decision of the Peace Process Steering Team (PPST).”
At the meeting, the government side was represented by Peace Commission’s advisors U Hla Maung Shwe, U Moe Zaw Oo, Ministry of State Counsellor’s Office Director General U Zaw Htay, and the 10 members of NCA-S EAO were represented by U Myo Win (ABSDF), Khun Myint Tun (PNLO), Daw Saw Mra Raza Lin (ALP), Salai Thla Hei (CNF), Nai Aung Ma Ngae (NMSP), Saw Kyaw Nyunt (KNU/KNLA-PC), Saw Sein Win (DKBA), P’doh Saw Taw Ni (KNU) and Solomon (LDU).
The meeting of PPST is slated for 2 to 4 December, followed by the official peace negotiations between the government and the ethnic armed organizations.
The government peace negotiation team is scheduled to meet with the Karen National Union (KNU) on 22 November. –Ye Gaung Nyunt

(Translated by Aung Khin)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News