20th-day meeting of Second Pyithu Hluttaw’s 13th regular session held

  • 5098

view 6The 20th-day meeting of Second Pyithu Hluttaw’s 13th regular session was held at the Pyithu Hluttaw meeting hall in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday morning where a motion urging the Union Government to produce experts in natural environment conservation subject, systematically expand the organization of Environmental Conservation Department down to district and township level and to raise the work momentum of the ministry’s work processes to achieve success tabled by U Nay Htet Win of Sinbaungwe constituency was debated by Hluttaw representatives and approved.

Motion on natural environment conservation
The motion was first discussed by U Win Win of Minbu constituency, U Myat Lay Oo of Htilin constituency, Dr U Khin Maung Thin of Ayadaw constituency, U Min Naung of Pinlebu constituency, U Myint Oo of Magway constituency, Daw Mi Kun Chan of Paung constituency, U Phone Myint Aung of DaikU constituency, U Myint Ngwe of Kyaukkyi constituency, U Myint Lwin of Twantay constituency, U Aung Thike of Seikpyu constituency and U Saw Victor Clyde of Thandaunggyi constituency.
In his discussion Deputy Minister for Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation Dr Ye Myint Swe said that in Fiscal Year 2018-2019 13 district and one township offices were opened in Kachin, Mon, Rakhine, and Shan states and Taninthayi, Bago and Ayeyawady regions. In 2019 September five district offices were opened in Mandalay and Sagaing regions. Arrangements were made to open 15 district offices and 8 township offices during FY 2019-2020. As per the five years program lands for 38 district offices and 89 township offices were being coordinated with relevant state and region governments and land for 22 district offices and 32 township offices were already obtained said the Deputy Minister.
Funds to employ personnel to full strength in Environmental Conservation Department and to open district and township offices was being requested in the yearly budget and will be implemented according to funding obtained. Personnel on Environmental Conservation Department as well as representatives from related ministries were being sent to local and foreign long and short term courses, workshops, discussions and meetings to raise their capacity and to produce experts in natural environment conservation subject.
Environmental Conservation Department and World Bank were coordinating toward opening a training center to raise environmental conservation and social protection capacity and during the first year of the three year project Dam Safety Training Workshop, Land Acquisition and Resettlement training and Community Health and Safety training were conducted.
In addition to this, to raise capacity and develop human resources arrangements to draw up a human resources development strategy with the technical assistance of UNDP was being conducted and as a first step Capacity Needs Assessment was conducted. Based on this the strategy will be drawn up. Arrangements were also being made in cooperation with international organizations to continue sending trainees. As the Environmental Conservation Department was being systematically expanded and works continued for the success of the work processes the motion should be approved explained the Deputy Minister. As U Nay Htet Win want the motion to be approved and there was no objection from the Hluttaw toward it, Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat announced the Hluttaw’s approval of the motion.

Question and answer session
In the question and answer session, a question by Dr U Aung Naing of Thabeikkyin constituency on removing forest land that were in the lands of villages in Thabeikkyin Township, Ohn one Village Tract was answered by Deputy Minister for Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation Dr Ye Myint Swe.
A question raised by U Maung Myint of Mingin constituency on payment of unpaid construction charges incurred by companies for No 1 Steel Mill (Myingyan) and No 2 Steel Mill (Pang Pet) was answered by Deputy Minister for Industry Dr Min Ye Paing Hein.
Similarly questions raised by U Khin Cho of Hlaingbwe constituency on major subject changing process for students applying to attend distance university education; U Ne Lin Aung of Mindat constituency on plan to open an arts and science college university or a college in Chin State Mindat Town; Daw Tin Tin Yi of Kyunsu constituency on plan to appoint teachers in Kyunsu Township post primary schools; Dr U Sein Mya Aye of Dala constituency on plan to appoint volunteer teachers and qualified graduate education personnel as government employed teachers and for them to continue their education in education college and Daw Ni Shwe Hlyan of Thantlang constituency on selection process to primary school teacher course were answered by Deputy Minister for Education U Win Maw Tun.

Hluttaw approves Basic Education Bill
As a final agenda of the day Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat obtained the decision of the Hluttaw to approve the Basic Education Bill sent with amendments by Amyotha Hluttaw.
Bill Committee secretary U Kyaw Soe Lin then tabled a motion to submit the 26 points that the two Hluttaws were in disagreement on the bill to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw for discussion and decision. Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat announced further that the matter will be submitted to Pyidaungsu Hluttaw.
21st-day meeting Second Pyithu Hluttaw’s 13th regular session will be held on 16 September. – Aye Aye Thant, Kyaw Zin Htike (MNA)

Share this post
Hot News
Hot News